What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hi folks, it looks like the N. aristolochioides x thorelii will have it's first flowers open by Wed/Thursday and the N. Miranda male flowers are just begining to open but not yet open up their pollen sacs.

Since I've never done this procedure before is there an optimal time for pollinating like immediately after opening or the evening of the day they open? People say Nep flowers stink so I would assume when the scent is strongest the flowers are most receptive but I couldn't smell anything from the N. fusca but it was male, are only female flowers "smelly"?

Does anyone have any idea how long it takes the ovaries to mature? I've seen pictures of opened Nep seed pods but are they dehissant (exploding open) or do they just slowly crack open as the ovaries decay?

Is better sowing achieved through "green seed" or fully mature seed?

Since I have no TC setup any seed I sow will be done the natural way on a bed of living sphagnum. However, I do have some different TC plantlet supplements onhand (flytrap, cape sundew, terrestrial orchid and epiphytic orchid mixes by Phytotech Labs). Do you think measuring out a minute dose and misting it on the seedlings would be of benefit or just inspire unstoppable algae growth?

Thanks for wading through this!
smile.gif

Hi Josh,
We have successfully made pollinations and raised seedlings several times here in sunny south Florida. Not all Nep flowers are smelly, and it seems to make no difference between male and female. Right now we have a male (spectabilis x ventricosa) just finishing, and it never had a scent, but the whole greenhouse is permeated by the sweet, citrus-like aroma of 'Miranda' pitchers.