What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sarracenia seedling die-off question

I'm not new to growing Sarracenia, but I am fairly new to growing them from seed.

I successfully germinated a number of species this spring, and most seemed to be growing quite well ...

Until this week.

Most seedlings vary from seed leaves to beginning to put up their second true (carnivorous) leaf.

In most of the pots, there is now some degree of die-off. The seed leaves begin to turn brown, and then the pitcher does as well.

I desperately want to prevent this from spreading. Any suggestion?

Some additional facts (fwtw):

it's just starting to heat up here -- greenhouse temps hit 93 this week.

I've been spraying with a solution of rain water and wettable sulfur to keep mold at bay. Could this be the problem?

Seedlings are germinating on a layer of milled sphagnum (perhaps 1/2" deep) over peat/sand. Water is by tray from the bottom (except for the sulfur fungicide spray).

Can I stop this? How?

And if not, should I transplant the remaining healthy seedlings? And if so, into what? More moss? or peat/sand straightaway?

Thanks in advance for any information more experience seed growers can provide!