What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sarracenia Purpurea Hibernation

I am new to the world of carnivorous plants and my first plant was is the Sarracenia Purpurea because of the easy requirements in my region. I am in zone 9 and I read on wikipedia that this plant needs hibernation and is between november to january. For some reason, the place I am living in got colder and my sarracenia purpurea was flowering, I don't know what will happen but, the plant is still growing for some reason, newer leaves are starting to sprout and my plant is already pretty big. what should i do. can i still put it into dormancy right now? should i wait till next dormancy season to put it into dormancy?

Its getting cold lately but, it doesn't seem like my plant is going to go into dormancy, if i want to force it into an extremely late dormancy, how would i do it, i have no experience in this matter, can someone give as much details as possible to help me out?

Hello GTX..
I just asked you where you live in your other post! ;)
zone 9..woah..thats toasty warm!

I would leave all your CPs outdoors 24/7/365..
every single day of the year.
no fridge necessary..
yes, your climate is a touch warmer than ideal for S. purpurea, but most Sarracenia are native to the south east US and the gulf coast..so your winters probably arent much warmer than what they get in the wild..

yes, S. purpurea grows MUCH further north, and is used to colder winters..
but even in your zone 9, you still get a cool-down for the winter..even if its warmer than most of the US..thats plenty "good enough" even for S. purpurea.

just keep your plants outdoors!