What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

I am new to raising CPs. Stopped in a Lowes and impulse bought a sundew, purple pitcher, and cobra lily (Darlingtonia californica) death cubes (love that term!) for my new office. Then I started reading up on caring for them. As I was reading about the Darlingtonias, I saw a write-up suggesting they like flowing water over their roots. Besides plants, I wanted to add an aquarium to the new space, so this write-up had me thinking, why not combine the two?

I found 1 reference on here to a Paludarium (combination aquarium and terrarium) with CPs. It was from 2001. So is there any experience here with them? I am recognizing that the Darlingtonia may not do well in this set-up, but I believe I can make the habitat viable for other CPs. Is there any experience on here with these systems and CPs?

I have had aquariums all my life, so I am comfortable with that portion of the paludarium idea. I have always wanted to do a stream type version of one. For this version, I would probably want to have some of the filter water return into the planted area, combining the "circulating bog" idea into the design.

For now, I am looking at the Circulating Bog watering method in this forum's sticky threads.

Regards,
Karl

Its fairly easy. You raise one side with whatever materials you have. Place a pump on the top that circulates water out of the bottom. The water flowing has to be slow to prevent erosion and bothering the roots to much. Darlingtonia can be grown outdoors as long as its not colder than 30 degrees for weeks at a time. I set up a tank like this for my turtle back when i was like 9. It is fun and if you add fish or water CP's such as ultricula it can be very exciting