What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Only Moderately Temperate Sarrs: Your Thoughts

CorneliusSchrute

A leuco by any other name would still be as glutto
So this is my first year--and first will be first winter--growing Sarracenia indigenous to the extreme southern portion of the genus's range. The plants I am thinking of in particular are of course S. psittacina, a few of its related hybrids, and S. rosea in addition to S. purpurea ssp. venosa. I have had warmer growing Sarracenia in the past (S. flava, etc.) and successfully overwintered them in small unheated greenhouse alongside S. purpurea ssp. purpurea and VFTs (I live in zone 6b, namely south-eastern Missouri near Arkansas). These truly warmer growing plants have me a bit stymied, however. Where should I overwinter these plants?

And thus my question for you: given the option, would you either

a) overwinter these potted plants alongside the other more temperate growing Sarracenia in an unheated greenhouse?

b) keep these plants in a southern windowsill in doors (my windows are old and not well-insulated, i.e. cool)?

c) not move the plants leaving them exposed to the elements all winter?

I doubt anyone will select option C, but I thought I would include to be equal opportunity. ;)

I should also mention while I am at it that I will be overwintering Darlingtonia (adult plants and seedlings) for the first time this year. I figure they will be fine in the greenhouse with the majority of the Sarracenia, though.