What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Nepenthes Fertilization Experiment

Hello everyone. Before you start reading, I just want to clear up some stuff-
1. Yes, I am turning 12 years old.
2. Yes, I have only been growing plants since January.
3. No, I am not an insane Nepenthes murderer for trying this experiment when I'm a novice grower.
I am trying to do an experiment on the effect of different fertilizers for the average highland Nepenthes. Ventricosa seems like the largest, cheapest, and easiest way to try. For one Ventricosa, I will be using MaxSea fertilizer. It will be applied twice a month, and will probably be diluted a bit when sprinkled onto the leaves. On the other, I will be using cooled, stale coffee at 1/2 strength by watering the plant with it, leaving it for exactly 2 days, and then drenching the soil thoroughly with distilled water. This method will be used twice a month, same as the Ventricosa MaxSea will be used on. This whole experiment will be 5 months long, and will be carefully monitored then recorded on a log right here on TF. Another Ventricosa will be fed 1 medium/large insect (perhaps mealworms? crickets?) per pitcher per month and also monitored with the other Ventricosas. The purpose of this experiment is to find out which fertilization method has the greatest effect on Nepenthes. Any comments? Tips?

Last edited:
twice a month on the coffee might be a bit excessive. I do it once every few months, let the coffee drain completely through the media, and don't flush it with water. Just my method..