What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sarracenia Hybrid (Newbie)

Hey there,
I'm new to the forums and new to carniverous plants and I figured it was about time I started to learn more about my pitcher plant.

My fiance bought it for me from (of all places) a supermarket about a year ago now, it was a token of love as I dislike flowers (i'm allergic) and he knew something as wierd as a carniverous plant would make me happy.
Anyway, a year on the once tiny little thing is HUGE. It lives in our bathroom window and i'm no expert, but it looks happy enough... I think.

It does however seem to be getting too big for the tiny little plastic pot it came in. So my question is, what should I do? Should I leave it be or risk repotting? how do you repot them?

Is there anything I should be doing to promote it's health and growth?

Here's a picture taken about 8 months ago, i'll try to take a more recent picture some time today.
Bitey.jpg

The bowl it's in now resembles much more of a swamp, it's rather well.. boglike to be honest and it's roots are starting to force their way out of the pot.

Anyone know what species this is either? It's some sort of Hybrid according to it's tag but that's about all I know.

It looks like a Purp x Minor, and nice looking at that! Since it is right in the middle of their growing season, I would probably just wait until early spring before I would repot it. Don't want to put it through any unnecessary shock. All you have to do to repot it is pull it out of the pot that it is in and put it in a bigger pot with peat and sand or peat and perlite or peat, perlite and sand, whichever you choose. You can get some of the old peat off if you like as well.