What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New Setup! And questions about an online order

Hello everyone! I'm still pretty new here and new to growing CP's so I have a few questions about this setup I just threw together yesterday. I posted a similar thread on "flytrapcare" and figured I'd just copy most of it to here because you can never get enough advice. I've kept many a reptile and aquarium (salt and freshwater) as well as vivariums and a fairly advanced hydroponic system so I'm not a total noob when it comes to this kinda stuff but every variation of this hobby has fairly specific requirements and I'm a lot lower on funds nowadays. Keeping my budget in mind I set out yesterday to home depot and a few other places in order to build a setup where my plants could thrive instead of just survive. Sorry for the fisheye, as soon as I can take better photos I will, but heres the start for now. All I have atm is a gopro:
CPsetup_zps985afc07.png
[/img]
Its a large (ish) tupperware bin with an egg crate false bottom for the plants to sit on. So far Ive installed a small pump and attached some tubing to the end just to keep water circulating but am trying to think of a more efficient method or a self watering method eventually. I also have an air pump from an old aquarium that I'm probably going to put to use too as an air stone like apparatus. My project for today is going to be installing one or maybe two computer fans to get some good airflow. Although before I do that I wanted to make sure it wont leach too much humidity. For lights I bolted one T8 fixture with an "ultra sun" bulb that puts out 6500K and a 12,000K white exoxotic panorama pro module LED light leftover from my aquarium side by side.
CPlights_zps5f6f079e.png