What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

My New Cephalotus Follicularis Hummer's Giant

mmorehead

Carnivorous Newbie!
Hello everyone!

I am just getting started with carnivorous plants, and wanted to share my new Cephalotus Follicularis with you. I am considering building a terrarium for it, but I haven't a clue where to begin. I would be extremely grateful for any info, advice or input.

The gentleman I purchased it from had been growning it in a terrarium. There is a root growing out of the bottom of the pot, and was told that it would need repotted. Any repoitting tips would also be appreciated.

This is such a wonderful plant, and I want to do everything I can to help it thrive, but I lack terrarium specific skills and want to be certain I repot it correctly. Thanks for taking the time to help a newbie!

Here are links to some pictures of the plant:
http://i331.photobucket.com/albums/l446/myfortune4u/l_0d4c00d1755e4a2a81dfc0de3e57871e.jpg

http://i331.photobucket.com/albums/l446/myfortune4u/l_77258b82de2944e094777660288011b1.jpg

http://i331.photobucket.com/albums/l446/myfortune4u/l_cced39bfce974266b70f8df637427f2b.jpg

http://i331.photobucket.com/albums/l446/myfortune4u/l_c07ca70e9801431daf5fea9e69500238.jpg

http://i331.photobucket.com/albums/l446/myfortune4u/l_163c4917585f4a1cb2ce4d5dc18fdf96.jpg

Wow, that's a great looking Ceph! Although, Cephalotus isn't exactly a beginners plant. It likes to stay just moist and hates being waterlogged, or it will die back. But Cephs are good at coming back to life. They like bright light and like coolish temperatures. Don't worry too much about humidity. What are its current conditions?

Thank you so much for your prompt reply and comments! :)