What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

I'm new to growing CP's and I started out this classic terrarium. Basicly all I wanted was an aestheticaly pleasing tank of drosera forests, with a couple nepenthes on a raised level and a tiny utric pond. I ended up with this.

76b.jpg

The setup's really bad, but i plan to improve it. its 20x10x18 in aquarium with tin foil on the sides. it has a glass top lid with a single 15W GE F15T8-C50 CHROMA 50 light about a foot away from my plants (only 5 inch off the n.) ther'es no circulation and the temp/ humidy is 65ish degrees F / 100% humidity at night and about 75ish 85%+ humidity during the day. the plants seem to be doing alright, just way on the green side. anyone know what kind of other lights i should combine with the one i have?

So far all I have are two nepenthes madagascanasis, a drosera aliciae, and about 16 drosera nidiformis (orignaly one, but i trimmed off all the what i thought were dead leaves and ended up with about 15 seedlings lol). anyones welcome to PM me if they have any drosera they don't want
smile.gif
also I don't know much about utric's so does anyone know what kind would do good in 2 in of water with an in of sedement under it?

76b.jpg

thsi wierd moss stuff just randomly started growing on the empty right half of the terrarium, and I wasn't sure if i should remove it, but since its not near any of the plants i just let it grow. i figured its some sort of decorative thing, anyone know?

76b.jpg

only other problem i've encountered are these tiny black thin bugs, that i think are thrips, but they're everywhere. not sure if they're doing more damage than being food though.