What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

repotting

i think my phal is done blooming for the season. i kinda want to repot it but i dont even know if its necessary especially since im not an expert orchid person. so before i do anything to my plant, i have a couple of questions that i need help with.

-can i repot anytime i want to?
-is there a difference between using pots and baskets? which one if more beneficial for the plant?
-do i have to fertilize the phal every month? i've had this plant for a few months and i havent been giving it any fertilizers.

I'm no expert but I'll try to help.

- I don't think it matters as long as it's not in bud. I've never noticed a difference.
-A pot will need watered less than an orchid basket, so it depends on your conditions and what plant you want. For a phal I suggest a pot
-I fertilize weakly weekly.