What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

MidnightSkies

animal lover, aquarium and CP enthusiast
I'm new to carnivorous plants and didn't think I would have to deal with flowering until next year, but of course my flytrap decided to flower on me. I've only had it a few weeks and it has filled up quite a bit and the mold that was starting to grow when I picked it up has completley cleared. Just last night I noticed that there was a flower stalk growing. It's about an inch tall. The plant seems healthy enough to flower and I would like to let it flower and possibly get a few seeds, but I noticed that the traps aren't closing. One of the tiny ones that have been growing (I'm guessing because of the flower) did close (on a bug's head that got away), but other than that, nothing. Is the flower using up too my energy and killing the plant? Or is it just catching too many bugs (normally catches at least 5 bugs daily, completely on its own)? It gets close to twelve hours of direct sunlight outside, while sitting in a shallow tray of distilled water, but once the sun goes down I do bring it in the house for the night since I'm nervous of leaving it outside in low 60F and 50F weather. Basically, what's the deal with the traps not closing, and if it's because of flowering, would letting it flower risk the health of the plant too much? If pictures would be of any help I can try getting some up tomorrow. Sorry for writing a book here...

5 bugs daily on each trap? a trap can close like 5 times i believe.

No, only one bug per trap. Normally more than 5 traps get lucky enough to catch a bug. I haven't bothered to try counting how many traps there actually are on the plant, but quite a few.