What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Nepenthes inermis or dubia!?

Hi,

looking at some pictures of these two species, some dubts came in my mind. I have got 2 N. inermis, of from BE and the other from an czech grower (I bought it a the EEE in Prague). However I would like to receive some opinions about this plant: is there the possibility that it is a N. dubia?

3158e7e0.jpg

1326ac8d.jpg

4b302bf8.jpg

This is the N. inermis from Borneo Exotics
d7860fed.jpg

Thanks to all
Federico

Im no expert (my usual phrase) but I Dont think I have seen a N.inermis lower with a red peristom. :S

Hi all:

There was a long discussion about a year ago regarding a hybrid inermis X bongso being sold as inermis by a major nursery.

Gus

Oh no, i understood! I had a N. inermis x bongso, but I gave it away as a present to a friend of mine. this is a picture of a pitcher of its

04d336e5.jpg

My N. inermis had a red peristome at that young age due to being grown in bright lighting. When it matured the pitchers were textbook flare mouthed N. inermis. As with many plants extra light will give them a splash of color, I always strive for it. If they grow exactly side by side with same lighting my suggestion would be genetics. Mine was from Wistuba and had the red peristome (when it had a peristome).

However mine did not have the side blush nor the obvious divided teeth on the peristome as shown in the pic by Fede.