What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Is this sun, wind, or temp burn?

I put my VFT - B52 directly outside a few weeks ago. They get direct east morning sun till high noon. A few days after They started to develop this dark, wilty tissue damage. My initial though was sunburn, but it was also fairly cold (mid 40's), and very windy on my third floor balcony. If it is sun or cold burn, I know it will adjust over time, but my main concern is wind. They've been out for 3-4 weeks and the new traps seem to be doing fine, and look at that color! Is there anything I should be worried about, or is this typical of sunburn?

blmywEU.jpg

I am no expert but it might be going into dormancy with temps as low as that.

I concur with the above statement, flytraps normally go into dormancy with anything prolonged under 50F. To be blunt, it is impossible to sunburn a flytap on an east window (or really any window, for that matter) without the help of some really impressive artificial lights.

Hm, well they are outside in direct sun, no window.

Temps are warming up and should be in 70's this weekend. If they are doing a dormancy thing, is that detrimental to their heath, or will they be fine when temps are consistently warm?

I don't see that as being dormancy since the newer leafs are longer, it definitely had some sunburn but as long as the new growth is looking good, it'll do fine (though I would watch out for the wind). Dormancy in flytraps is less from temperatures and more from light levels, mine went dormant in consistently 80° weather

Last edited:
Thanks for the replies, I'll leave them out, but keep an eye on them for wind!