What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Is this light bulb suitable for growing CPs?

Want to try this bulb for growing CPs especially some plantlets or geminate seeds (maybe in the near future I will build up an indoor Lowland terra):

Feit Electric ESL40TN/D 42-Watt Compact Fluorescent High-Wattage Bulb, Daylight

(You can type the name on the Amazon.com to see details)

It is equivalent to 200 w. At the distance of 6 inch, the light density is about 12000 lumens (measured by my meter).

It's my first time to use light bulb. So I very need suggestions from all of you. Thanks.

ive had that exact bulb for about 4 months and just ordered 2 more last month. seem to be working pretty well for me.

---------- Post added at 08:16 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:16 PM ----------

they put out a bit of heat tho, especially at 6 inches away.

Thank you. I'm happy to know that this bulb works well for you.

What's the distance between the bulb and the plants in your terra?

Hi
I have used these bulbs for a few years now.
Not as nice as some T-5's, but a nice bulb, not too expensive, fits in a standard socket and readily available. Lots of advantages there.

It has worked well for me with very good results.
The BEST advice I can give you....
For this bulb.... and ANY new light/Bulb!
....try it out!

Watch the heat it gives off....!
Start with a distance and then move it closer if your plants need coloring up or show signs of needing more light. Better to start with a distance and move closer, than to cook and kill your plants!

MAKE CHANGES SLOWLY AND GENTLY!!!!

Learn from your experiences with your plants, and make changes slowly so you don't lose them in the process! :nono: