What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hello from Alberta, Canada

Greeting to all of you fine TF folk,

I thought I'd take the time to do a proper introduction, since I have been spending more and more time on this wonderful forum of yours. I spend most of my time on the OCPS forum in Canada, but also check out some of the other CP forums, from time to time.

Cp's have been a passion of mine for about five years now, so I am still relatively new to the hobby. Though Nepenthes, Heliamphora and Pinguicula are the CP's I am most interested in, like the rest of a lot of you, I also dabble in most of the other CP genera. I am particularly fond of the highland and ultra highland Neps, and maybe that is a good thing, considering our usually toned down local temperatures. I found that when I first got into this hobby, (some would call an obsession) finding CP's other than vft's and the odd Sarracenia was quite the challenge. And because of the after effects of 9-11, getting plants into Canada from the States, had pretty much become a thing of the past. Thus I was forced to order from Europe, and that is where the bulk of my collection has been gathered from. The good news is that a certain reputable CP vendor in Canada has recently started to make some of the rarer Nepenthes species available, and that has done a lot to energize the CP scene here in Canada.

So with all of that said, it is good to be aboard the TF forum, and I look forward to sharing CP info and experiences with all of you.

welcome to TF! :welcome: