What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Darlingtonia californica

glider14

Always a newbie
ok i might just get a Darlingtonia Californica(cobra lily) and i was wondering since i am a beginner how hard it is to grow them rate them 1-10, 10 being hardest

Totally depends on your medium and watering and location I think. If it's indoors, is planted in LFS, and is watered very frequently (maybe in a self-watering pot as well), I would say it's a 2 or 3.

thanks

1 for me. dont even water mine as it's in a stream.

Hi Glider! I'm sort of a beginner too (I just started growing CPs this year). I'd rate Cobra Lily a 3 even though I don't have it anymore. It was doing very well and producing many of its "pitchers" until I went on a trip and didn't have it watered. I think with you growing other CPs, it shouldn't be too hard to grow Cobra Lily.

My growing experience would be like this.
Outside in PA full sun all day - 10 (Killed 2 when trying to grow them outside)
Inside - 1

Welcome to the forums, glider. I'm raising D. californica from seed, and would rate it as a 1. They're rock-solid, even in poor light conditions. D. californica are supposedly easier to grow from seed than from nursery plants; some people have difficulty with them.
~Joe

Mine were growing like crazy until I repotted them in a taller pot (thus a lower water table) and they've suffered ever since. I don't know if they're just going into dormancy (temperatures and such haven't changed, but they might just 'know' it's the season), but it seems to indicate the wetter the better.

[b said:
Quote[/b] (JustLikeAPill @ Oct. 30 2005,7:36)]1 for me. dont even water mine as it's in a stream.
Tempting.... so tempting!
smile_o_32.gif