What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jeremiah's New Heli Grow Chamber

Hello all,

I just wanted to post a few photos of my newly setup Heliamphora grow chamber. A huge thank you goes to Butch for all the great advice to help me set this up similar to his.

Here is a great thread with advice from him.
http://www.terraforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=123304&page=2

I have been growing a lot of these plant for 5 years or more in my greenhouses but they really have never done a whole lot for me. Last winter I decided I would build a new grow chamber to really try and succeed with the genus. As we all know Butch grow the best looking Heliamphora around so I asked his advice.

My chamber is not 100% identical but I'm hoping it will do the trick.

The chamber is 2' x 4'. I'm using a 4' T5 8 bulb fixture that is on for 14 1/2 hours a day. At 6:30am my humidifier (Sunpentown SU2000) turns on at 7am one fan (120mm 800RPM S-Flex 33.5 CFM @ 8.7dBA.) turns on. The lights and the other fan come on at 7:30am everything then run all day. The temps seem to max out at 74F, at 9pm one fan and the lights shut off. The other fan then runs until 9:30 and cools the chamber to about 60F. At 10pm the humidifier then turns off but will come on for 1/2 an hour at midnight and 3am. The humidity durning the night stays at about 85% to 90%. Now that the chamber is full it stays at 75% at the far end of the chamber durning the day.