What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

I love bromeliads,especially the flowers.

I love growing bromeliads.
I also love seeing them bloom, so when I recently bought this bromeliad I waited a week then took it's photo.
bromeliad%20flower,30%.jpg

I then took a closer look at the bloom and I noticed that some-one (or something!) was also enjoying my bromeliad bloom.
close-up,30%.jpg

A grasshopper!!
I wonder whether the flower tasted nice?? Now all I have to do is put one of my pitcher plants nearby,......hee hee

What are the basics for bromeiliad care...my sister got me one and I have no background in growing them....

Hi Neil

I love them too, I have literally thousands.

Slyfi it depends on what kind of Brom you have. Mopst of them are fairly easy and enjoy similar conditions so assuming you have a Neoregalia or similar just keep them warm, very free draining media (I use wood shavings, charcoal or even nothing) and keep some water in the middle of the cup.

Cheers, Troy.

I have some 30 in my collection (and always looking for more Fatboy!) I think they are wonderful plants: such beautiful colors and different forms. For me, they are easier to grow than spiderplants (Chlorophytum), are very forgiving of forgetting to water, and are all round great plants, especially when they flower. They are also perfect for sharing as they make numerous offsets after flowering.

[b said:
Quote[/b] ]They are also perfect for sharing as they make numerous offsets after flowering.
Tamlin, are you hinting at Troy (fatboy)? Because if you are, then I'd like to hint too!
laugh.gif

laugh.gif