What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How quickly does drosera capensis grow

• Thread starter leslieg
  • Start date
I'm new to growing carnivorous plants. I'm the proud parent of about 30 itsy bitsy baby Drosera capensis. I planted the seeds in November-December, and wonder of wonders, they're growing. They're in wet long-fibered New Zealand sphagnum about 5" below a pair of T5 fluorescent lights. The room temp is about 70 degrees. They're about 2-3 months old now. They're pretty cool little things, most with 4-5 tiny leaves with red hairs and dew. I'm looking forward to seeing them without a magnifying glass.

How long will they remain semi-microscopic? Is there anything I can do to speed up their growth?

Thanks!

Drosera will increase in size kind of slowly when not fed. However, when you feed them you can easily get flowering sized plants in a year or so. At this stage the trick is to feed pieces small enough not to overwhelm the plant. Tiny bits of blood worms or fish pellets seem to work well.

Sent from my VS500 using Tapatalk

Be careful about feeding them at a small size. If you feed too much it can result in a fungus outbreak that can overwhelm the plant. Sundews tend to speed up a bit once they gain a little size too.

Drosera will increase in size kind of slowly when not fed. However, when you feed them you can easily get flowering sized plants in a year or so. At this stage the trick is to feed pieces small enough not to overwhelm the plant. Tiny bits of blood worms or fish pellets seem to work well.