What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hello from South Florida

Hello all,

Just recently joined the forum, though I've been lurking for a while. Started growing cps about a year ago, and now have a set of Nepenthes and am putting in an in ground bog for VFT, sarricenia, and sundews. I'm located about fifteen miles north of Miami.

Thanks!

Welcome to the forum, I'd like to say I could guess where you are but so many people have so many different borders for what Miami is, some see Miami as downtown, some see Miami as Miami Dade county haha. In any case feel free to ask any questions you may have, also, do you mind me asking what sundews you want to put in the ground?

Welcome to the forum! I'm a newbie with CP's, as well. I've been growing nepenthes primarily for two years now. I'm thinking of trying some sundews this year.
I had family that lived in Coral Springs, FL not too far from Miami, FL.

Welcome to TF!

Welcome.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hey thanks all! I live in Coral Springs, actually, in south Broward County. I'm not used to anyone knowing where that is though!

I only have a few dews - capillaris, a couple filiiformis ( tracyi, filiiformis red, and Florida All-red), and one aliceae that doesn't seem to be doing well. It's in a tray now, and it's seemed to stop growing and lost most of its leaves. I'm hoping that's just dormancy - the bud seems intact - but it's my first winter with it so who knows.

The bog will be mostly sarricenia. I've tried some pings but killed most of them. Too much sun, I think.

Hmm aliciae doesn't go dormant. Show us a picture, maybe we can figure it out. Yeah I know where it is haha but it's true, no one knows anything except Miami