What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

False John Rizzi

jimscott

Tropical Fish Enthusiast
Apparently, this is a false John Rizzi:

Skimming through the Photofinder, I couldn't find an exact match. Whoever 'staticflicker' is, I think we have the same cultivar. About all i can conclude is that it appears to have moranensis traits.

I'm not very good at IDing Pings, but that looks like a P. moranensis flower to me. The leaves do look different from my 'John Rizzi,' but I'm certainly no expert.

The standard photo is published in "The Savage Garden" 1998 page 212. The description: "In my California greenhouse in the summer, hummingbirds frequently make a beeline for our flowering Mexican butterworts, probably because the birds are familiar with pings from their winter sojourn south of the boarder. This sometimes results in seed which I usually destroy, not knowing their pedigree. Once, however, I grew some plants from seed collected from a P. moranensis variety dubiously marked 'Superba'. Some of the resulting plants I sold before maturity, nicknamed "hummingbird mix." Our friend, the namesake of this cultivar, grew one of these plants to flowering size. Its exceptionally large, full blooms of deep pink petals warranted its preservation. The oval summer leaves are undulating and virtually marginless."

So the defining characteristics are emphasized above. White pattern on flower has no bearing.

I have a 'John Rizzi' that I got from you several years ago. Is it the same clone as you currently have?

These 3 flowers are on the (as labeled) 'John Rizzi'
IMGP7926_zpsf88078ca.jpg

Exceptionally large full blooms - check
deep pink petals - ??

IMGP7934_zps9551e29c.jpg

oval summer leaves- check