What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Beginner's Questions

• Thread starter Lincoln
  • Start date
Hey,

I am new to carnivorous plants, and I have a few questions.
1. Is it a good idea to put multiple different carnivorous plants in a single pot(e.g Sundews, Venus Fly Traps, Pitcher Plants)?
2. What are good beginner plants of the three types I just mentioned?
3. Any tips for beginners?

If anyone could answer any of these questions I would be much obliged.

-Lincoln

Welcome to Terra Forums, Lincoln :welcome:

1. This is doable providing you choose plants that like the same soil types and conditions. It is actually a larger question than it might seem.

2. For flytraps I would suggest typical forms. As with the Sarracenia (American pitcher plants) you will be dealing with temperate dormancy for these so they are maybe not the absolute easiest but they are both doable, especially if you have a climate where they can be grown out of doors. For sundews I recommend Drosera capensis and D. spatulata to start with. These can often be grown in a bright window or out of doors during the summer months and have no dormancy period.

3. I would suggest you look here: http://www.carnivorousplants.org/grow/guides There is lots of information to help get you started.

Bluemax pretty much covered it. It is important to make sure you keep plants with the same climate requirements together. I've seen too many people plant stuff like nepenthes and venus flytraps together. If you want to make a community pot make sure temperates live with temperates and tropicals stay together.