What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

will transplanting into a larger pot increase size of plant?

Im new to Carnivorous plants, but not plants in general. Will transplanting into a larger pot increase size of plant? also what type of medium do you recommend?

Drosera spattula 'Fraser Island'
Pinguicula 'Pirouette'
Pitcher plant, not sure of variety.

thank you in advance.

First of all "pitcher plant" ?, nepenthes or sarracenia, for the D.Spathulata a mix of pure dried spag, spag/sand (any ration) or peatmoss/sand 50/50 are all good, for the ping a soil of 2 dried spag: 1 perlite or 50/50 peat/sand are fine.
Put them in 10-12cm tall pots and use a shallow water tray (2-3cm) then bright conditions, the drosera can handle several hours full sun but will need to adapt to that gradually, so start with morning sun for 1-3hours then bright/filtered light for the rest of the day, but this may vary on your humdity and temps.
Your watering and soil will be effected by your conditions, so if you list them you can get better advice.
As for bigger pot bigger plant, this is not really the case for most carns, in to small a pot they can get root bounds, but generally nepenthes, darlingtonia and sarracenia are the only ones that seem to benifit form a larger pot (in my experience), for drosera and utrics in can increase shoots/spread, but Spathulata is not one of these, and pings have tiny root systems.

Hi there!

1) Transplanting alone will not necessarily increase the size of your plants. Additionally, it usually isn't the most important factor in growth rate. Appropriate temperatures, daylength, and watering have a much bigger impact. If you optimize those conditions, you can also begin using fertilizers to great effect.