What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What's the difference...

• Thread starter Mannannan
  • Start date
Well, I have it's a feeling that it's either a water/ground dwelling issue, or an english/american lingo issue.

Help please, I'm from Sweden, and I'm not that good at the finer points of the english language yet.

Thanks /Quensel

Generally in the United States, turtle refers to an aquatic or semiaquatic animal with webbing on the feet (for swimming) and tortoise refers to a terrestrial animal with stumpy (elephant-like) feet for walking on land. Just a side note tortoises are generally very dense so they can't swim and will sink and drown in deep water. I know the terminology changes depending on your location in the world though.

Different adaptations.. different Genus.. probably different family.. I haven't looked into their taxonomy.. give me a sec

They both reside in the order Testudines, Most torts reside in the Genus Geochelone (Land turtle) and Testudo.
Other than differing in familys.. there's a huge difference, although telling between a box turtle and a tortoise at a glance can be difficult at times.. I'll agree with that.

mostly it's land vs water, but that isn't full proof, some turtles live on land and look very tortois like. When it gets right down two it, you have some very different anitomical structures in the two groups, but to keep things simple thinking of land vs water works okay ;)

[b said:
Quote[/b] (buster1 @ Aug. 03 2004,5:29)]Just a side note tortoises are generally very dense so they can't swim and will sink and drown in deep water.