What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What's next?

Est

War. War never changes.
Staff member
I've been growing CP for a few years now, but I've had to keep my numbers limited- until now.  So, I'm turning to you guys now to give me some suggestions for what to grow next, CP you've had good experience with growing, or ones you just think are cool.  I live in California, 2 minutes from the ocean, so I get plenty of sunshine, and plenty of fog, but I'm open to using growlights.  My only constraint is that you please not suggest plants so hard to grow that I would come to suspect of being the anti-christ
biggrin.gif
.   Thanks a lot in advance, I've been lurking this forum for months but I'm glad to have finally joined.  If you need any more information, I'd be oblidged to supply.  
smile.gif

-Est

welcome!

First off, where in california are you? I'm in monterey county...

I would go with nepenthes albomargiana, nepenthes sanguinea, nepenthes rhombucaulis, drosera capensis, drosera slakii, pinguicula esseriana, pinguicula morensis, pinguicula sethos, and utricularia livida, just to name a few
biggrin.gif

Spec is right. Coastal California is good for a huge variety of cps. Outdoors you can grow Sarracenia of all sorts, vfts, terrestrial utricularia, and most of the temperate and semitropical drosera. Indoors, under cheap fluorescent grow lights, you can grow most any hardy nepenthes, and almost any drosera. I love the nepenthes, personally, and grow lots of them here in San Francisco.

Capslock

Est

Welcome...glad you came out of the Lurkers Fog.
smile.gif
I say go crazy and expand into everything. You will anyway. The more space you have, the more plants you get. Even when you DON'T have any space...you get more plants.