What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What are they?

I looked at this forum and saw this post. Well are they carnivorous? Where can i get one? Can someone tell me where i can see pics of them or sumthing. Please tell me about them.
smile.gif

Looks like a pic of utricularia flowers.
Utricularia are usually very small plants which have "bladders" instead of roots. these bladders suck in live swimming or crawling prey.
I'm pretty new to utrics (only have about 10 and I just got them) so someone else may be able to ID them from the photo. There are 214 species
As for learning about them there is only one book I know of called The Genus Utricularia it's almost 800 pages and almost all scientific text. I will be recieving a copy in the mail soon (should've been here by now..) but it was an expensive book so if you go to www.Google.com and type in "Utricularia" you will get a ton of responses and plenty of reading info.
Also check out the Utricularia forum on this site.

You guys i'm not talking about the picture i'm talking about the plants that i put this question under!!!I shoulda never put that picture there......ehehe sorry bout the mixup.
sad.gif

The plants listed above are all considered by some to be carnivorous, it all depends how you define 'carnivorous'

Two bromeliads (pineapple family) Brocchnia reducta from S. America and Catopsis berteroniana from S. and Central America, North into Florida are considered carnivorous.

The tropical tree, Triphyophyllum peltatum from W. Africa is definately carnivorous in it's early growth stages and very rare in cultivation. See thread in this forum for photos and details.