What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Water Toleration

Nepenthesis

Formerly known as Pineapple
How much water can neps tolerate? How long can the medium be at it's water retention capacity without root rot? I've read that after fertilizing, you must flush the pot with water until it generously flows out the bottom. Will that be too much water and/or cause root rot? How dry is too dry?

I'm new to neps and just received my first two a little over a week ago. One in a Pasion Highlands Truncata (3") and the other is a ventricosa x talangensis (12"). Regarding the ventricosa x talangensis, there is sphagnum around the roots and a bark mix around the rest of the pot. The other is planted in bark, but it's only 3" across. Not sure if that's because it's small or because of the species it is, or if it's just lack of experience of the vendor.

I know watering is usually in relative terms, such as "moist," "soak," "drench," etc. and it's very difficult to know exactly how much water is too much.

The questions I have asked are assuming that the medium is LFS, which is very retentive of water.

Thanks in advance!! :boogie:

They like it damp but not sopping wet. When I flush my plants I put them in my sink to let the extra water drain out.

I just fill my nep trays up with water and then let their roots air out for a few days after the water is gone...never had a problem once.

I fertilize my neps by spraying their leaves so I never end up having to rinse them...only when I clean out the greenhouse every now and then

They like it damp but not sopping wet. When I flush my plants I put them in my sink to let the extra water drain out.