What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

U. praelonga flowering instructions

Yeah, I have a pretty good plug of U. praelonga right now, and I was wondering if anyone has been able to get it to flower. I know that a couple of Utrics that I've asked about have a bad reputation of being hard to get to flower, and I was just hoping that this was an exception.

Thanks!

semi-large pot (10cm) rootbound with seasonal temp and light cycle. FWFW I have never got it to flower and I have been growing it for 6 years

I have no hope! Mine has never flowered and it has been getting 15 hour photoperiods for the past 6 months.

Nooooooo!!!!!
yet another lost cause!!!!!!

Porque!?!?!?!? P-O-R-Q-U-E?!?!?!?!

split it into two pots and throw one in the fridge for a month or so..........

is that what you did? or is that sarcastic?

ive never done it but in all reality for alot of Utric species that wont flower in cultivation its cause they need a period of cold(at or near freezing) they dont need it to live but they need it to flower which is why the Brits tend to flower some of the Utriuc species MUCH more often than those of us in the states.....cause they are growing them out in greenhouses that recieve a cold winter but dont quite freeze........so while i have never done this with this particular species ive heard the cold dormancy mentioned for it before.........divide it in to two pots and throw one in the fridge......it should either induce flowering after it warms up or kill it but aslong as long as you divide it before hand your not out anything other than some time if it doesnt work..................