What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

total newbie wanting to

I am trying to remember the formula for calculating gallon capacity. Is it LxWxH/231?

ok! ill give the tank 30W worth of light, that brings down the cost by about $40. And the 500l/h bio filter will be a 400l/h filter. That will bring down the cost by only $1...
look at my plan on page 2, what do you think? did i miss out anything?

thanks!

[b said:
Quote[/b] (SnapTrap @ Jan. 04 2004,06:08)]A seventeen gallon tank can hold eleven and a half inches of fish.36W is way more light than you need.Maybe 20 W.
The filter you mentioned is too powerful.  500 L or 250GPH is far to much.  Add two hardy fish to start, and the rest in two months.
(everyone probably knows this..but just in case..)
a 17 gal tank can support "11 inches" of SMALL fish!
for example, 11 one inch tetras would be fine..
but one 11 inch Oscar would not be fine!
wink.gif

a 17 gal tank would be WAYYY to small for an Oscar..even though it might still be "eleven inches of fish"
or even two 5" goldfish wiould be far too much fish for a 17 gal tank..
there is a big difference between "inches of fish" and "total fish mass"..so the "inches of fish" rule really cant be used for any fish larger than tetras..its meaningless for larger fish..
scot

Catfish do need to be fed, especially because you won't have any algae for them to eat yet. They like those little green wafers that sink to the bottom. The package will tell you which type likes them. One is just algae, another is algae with shrimp/fish meal. There might be others. My supposed veggie eater only likes the shrimp ones...
rock.gif

[b said: