What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Terrestrials or wet ones?

Hi all.  Im new to this, so bear with me.  IVe got a nice warm tank that stays wet on the bottom.  We enough for moss to grow, and all sorts of tropicals (ferns, bromeliads, etc).  So, my question is, what types of orchids (if any) could I use to fill a "hole" in the terrarium? Something that can take almost constant moisture, or at least contact with the soil, and has some attractive foliage?  Up to a foot tall....
Thanks
Frogtown

Most "marsh" orchids grow too tall for that tank, but it sounds like Bulbophyllum/Cirrhopetalum territory. The forums sponsor has a nice one on special right now. They grow in environments similar to many Bromeliads. Just keep an eye on it to make sure the roots aren't too wet.

You're going to have to be careful, even with Bulbos. They're not going to be happy if they get too warm or if there's little air movement. Still, they may be best choice.

Merlin

Too Warm for Bulbophyllum!? I find that difficult to believe.
Though the constant damp conditions would probably rot them out. Even Bulbophyllum and Cirrhopetalum require active air movment through their media.
Your best bet would be Ludisia discolor and its relatives.
Ever conside some dwarf Begonia species?

Peace