What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Starting terrariums from scratch

I am new to the terrarium scene, but i have been thinking about building one for a while. here is my general idea for the structure. i think that i am going to fabricate a frame made out of wood, datoed to accomadate the plexi glass i am going to use. once that is done i am going to silicon the plexi to the wood. that is really the general idea, except for the roof which will be the same construction with a hinge on the outside. does anyone have some suggestions for a place to start. i am sorry to be so mundane but it is all so new to me. any advice would be greatly appreciated.

ranchero

i'd treat the wood with something to make it water proof/ rot resistant. i've never treated wood before so i really don't know what i'm talking about in that area lol.

thanks, not a bad idea. i will look into shelacing it or something else. because i am new, should i create anytype of drainage holes on the bottom? i was under the impression that this wasnt necessary, but unsure.

huh? why would you need to do that? i'm assuming your plants will be in pots, and then the pots will be placed in saucers.

if your going for garden-style, i'd pick something like plastic and not wood. i'd be afraid the wood would eventually rot or leak, even if it was treated.

i was thinking garden style. you think that the wood would rot even under a coat of shelac and maybe even some poly vynl acetate. the problem with plastic is working with it and getting it cut down etc. any solutions to this?

it might rot, it might not.