What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Should i get one!?!?!?!

well I was at petco the other day buying some wax worms for the neps and I saw some hemit crabs, They are so awesome. I used to keep them when I was younger and now I want them again. It was soo hard not to buy one right then and there. But I had a big expense with my dogs xmas gift and so on so I didn't but I have everything I need to set up a sweet rear habitat for one. I mean since I've been reefing for 9 years I've come to have a collection of randon tanks and things of that nature. so the only expensie would be the crab(s?) them selves and food which I know how to make.

Sigh so do any of you have any?

I do know that all of them are taken from the wild. You, being a reefer, might stand a better chance then most at a breeding attempt though.

hmm breeding would be near impossilble in a typlical reef all my coral would eat the larvae. I know they are taken from the wild but they are collected only in certain areas making sure that they are not over harvested.

My plant freak uncle had a hermit for about 10 years while I was growing up. They seem to make good "pets" but will snap you with their claws if given the chance. I've seen some books on raising hermits so it might be a good idea to read one or two of those before getting into them. I know they sell all sorts of fancy supplies for use with them but my uncle just kept his in a sandy terrarium with some plants and rocks with a never good enough fitting lid. It would always somehow get out and be found in the cats water dish in the kitchen or hiding behind the toilet.

I didn't know they were all wild caught, that's kinda sad that with all the advances they can't captive breed these little crabs.