What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sarracenia identification assistance please

Hi,

I recently purchased one of pft.com's Sarracenia gardens, which is supposed to include a leucophylla, a wrigleyana, and a Judith Hindle. I can't quite tell which one of the plants is a Judith Hindle, however, as they don't quite look like the ones I see in pictures (I'm sure they look different when they're younger). Here's the pic:

sarracenia01-small.jpg

Anyone see a Judith Hindle? Sorry if it's obvious, this is my first time growing a non-purpurea sarracenia. Thanks!

I'm no expert, but I can say with confidence that the one with the white and red veining / window look to it, has leucophylla in it.

Perhaps you have 2 different kinds of plants in there?

There are indeed two (or more) species of Sarracenia in that pot. The upright one, as decribed by Jim, has the lookings of 'Judith Hindle' to me. They start with a good amount of white, but as they age, the red from the venation seems to spill out and eventually the plant turns a deep red to burgundy. Strong light will help his process along, mine eventually turn completely red (not just the hood area.)

Hmm, I always thought the white one with the heavy red veining was the leucophylla. Here are a couple of closer-up pictures of those pitechers for identification.

leucophylla02s.jpg

leucophylla04s.jpg

So does it look like there are only two types in there? There should be three... I guess I won't know for sure until I repot this winter. Thanks for the help!