What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Questions

I'm pretty new to aquariums, and now that I've suceeded with the nitrogen cycle I have a few questions.
1. Can I put crabs/shrimp in an aquarium that is full of water or does it have to be shallow?
2. Can I put Bettas in an aquarium along with other fish?
3. Do freshwater puffers puff up like saltwater puffers?
4. How can I get rid of nitrates without water changes?
5. My water is cloudy and it looks like my aqarium has fog in it. Is this a bad thing? If so how do I get rid of it?

That's it for now. Any help will be appreciated. Thanks!

1) more specific information needs to be provided. Are these fresh or salt water shrimp and crabs? Are they fiddler crabs or ghost shrimp? Are they Banded Coral Shrimp or Decorator Crabs?

2)Bettas can go with other fish, depending. Are you referring to male or female? Do you have notorius fin-nippers?

3)Normally the freshwater ones are brackish and can also go into salt water. They DO puff up.

4)Once you've gotten through the nitrogen cycle - the tank is safe from ammonia and nitrites. You will normallyhave some nitrates, but unless there is an unusually high concentration, nitrates are generally considered safe. I wouldn't worry about.

5)Are you sure that you completed the nitrogen cycle? That normally occurs at the beginning of the cycle, when nitrosamonas bacteria are breaking down ammonia into nitrites. You can do water changes or add commercial chemicals - but I wouldn't. I would take more tests, first. Certainly don't add more critters. Cloudy water has a reason. We have to determine that reason.

[b said: