What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Pinguicula lusitanica

I just got some seed from the ICPS and I sowed it all on the "standard" CP mix (half peat, half perlite). I'm really excited about growing this ping because this is my first time with this plant. Does anyone here grow it? I would love to hear anything about it. All I know is that it can become a weed in collections, which is awesome to me (for some reason I've always been intrigued by the "weed" CPs!).

-How long does it take to germinate?
-How long does it take to mature?
-How big do these plants get?
-What's their lifespan?
-Will they eat french fries?
-Do carnivorous plants eat people?
-Are you my mother?

You'll find this an easy and rewarding ping. It's a tiny one - my mature plants are only about an inch wide, and they're growing everywhere seed has fallen, from utric pots, to older pots covered in carpet moss, to pots with nepenthes mix. Not sure how long it takes to mature as they're in a constant cycle of flowering, germinating, and spreading. It's pretty fast, though. I have had them for about a year and a half, and none have died yet. Enjoy these guys! Just remember, they self-polinate, so if it flowers, it WILL have seed.

Capslock