What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

hey everyone, i'm new with all this, so i have a few questions.

i just ordered some plants and it says it includes wrigleyana, judith hindle and leucophylla. i get from reading on this forum that they need boggy conditions, so i was wondering what the best setup is. how much water should there be? moist, or do they do best sem-floating? thanks for any help.

Welcome to the forums! By boggy they mean terrestrial, but constantly wet. The plants should be kept in a water tray almost as deep as the pot, and the water level should be kept approximately half way up the pot. To mimic natural conditions, you can fill the tray all the way to near the top of the pots, and then let it dry out before refilling.
Have you cared for carnivorous plants before? Please keep in mind that Sarracenia and almost all other carnivores are highly sensitive to soil and water conditions. Soil must be nutrient free, composed of media such as sphagnum peat moss, perlite, silica sand and long fiber sphagnum moss. Absolutely no fertilizer until you're familiar with the various species of CPs and their various needs. Fertilizer will kill most carnivorous plants in short order.