What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Nepenthes coursework/project - singaporeans pls?

Hey all singaporean cpers,
As you may have noticed I am planning to do an experiment on nepenthes for my IB coursework. Here is the link. I am studying the different species of nepenthes, pH in the fluid and fluid from different size pitchers (now of the same species) and seeing how each of these factors affect the rate of digestion of albumen solution.

Now, I have a favour to ask which may surprise most of you.

In order to perform these experiments testing pH, rate of digestion etc, I need nepenthes fluid. And lots of it. I have been collecting (and am still collecting) species to try to build up my collection. However it may not be enough. So I am asking that you *donate*- ? a little fluid if I need some. This is not asking for plants or anything, I just need the fluid in the pitchers. As I suspect that most of you have massive collections (Lam_wn, Cindy, JalanKayu and the rest of you), unlike my tiny own.
smile_m_32.gif

In a few months I will publish the results, possibly in some journal or magazine, if it turns out something useful, which I am pretty sure it will.
smile.gif

Thanks,
Jason

No problem. But do you need them fresh? Or you would want to give us a week to collect?

Be careful when you carry out the experiment though. Pitcher fluid is <span style='color:red'>FULL</span> of bacteria. None in a unopened pitcher though.

Do you have the book "Carnivorous Plants of Singapore"? It is a little booklet by BP and Singapore Science Centre. In it, there is a chapter on the digestive fluid of nepenthes and how it actually works. You may want to refer to it for ideas on how to present your findings.