What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Longer lived Sundew

• Thread starter dbarron
  • Start date
Well, I've been doing (in a small way) CPs for four or five years now and having relatively good success, except my drosera choices have all been fairly short lived, say a year or maybe two. I'd like to seek recommendations for one that would get bigger and better each year with windowsill culture and summer outside.
Pitcher plants, venus fly traps, hardy drosera have all done well outside for me and generally mexican pings do well for me indoors, though I think lots of rains last year weakened and ultimately doomed a moranensis for me. I have laueana and an specified hybrid that I'd say has moranensis in it's background flowering happily at the moment.
Anyway, any drosera recommendations with longevity in mind?

Drosera capensis is a long living good choice. It is readily available, easy to grow, active, and becomes large and showy when mature. It has several varieties, all are worth cultivating.
Good growing,
Mike

Attachments

• D capensis Red 001.JPG
    D capensis Red 001.JPG
    184.5 KB · Views: 4
What species have you tried and failed with ?

Drosera Capanesis, Paradoxa, Ptiolaris complex (and families), binata, filliformis (they have dormancy periods), tuberous drosera, they're all are long lived drosera.

D. burmanii and indica families are annual. Even though we could extend their lives by heavy feeding, eventually they will decline and dying.

D. venusta, nidiformis, spatulata variants and some others, while they're supposedly perrenials, they have tendency to keep sending flowers until they exhausted and die.