What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

like they're being chewed right off???

i'm pretty new to the CP arena and i need some help!!

i've got a bog garde that's 2 parts peat/1 part sand. i've got VFT and ptichers. it only gets rain water.

when i put my new plants in back in april, everything started growing like gangbusters. then all the sudden, all my pitcher plants look like they've got bite marks in them. the older shoots are all eaten up and the new shoots look like they've been bitten right off.

close inspection does not reveal any visable bugs. but whatever it is- they're DESTROYING my precious pitchers.

HELP!!!!

i'd post pictures, but i'm not sure how exactly.

I would check for snails or slugs. Take a jar cap, fill it with beer and set it in the bog. If snails or slugs are present, you'll find them in the beer.

Indeed, hard to say without pics
but sounds like slugs.
If you are growing in pots, unless they sit in water, the slugs often hide right under the pot itself!
I would go out tonight with a flashlight after 10ish, and look at the leaves carefully.
Slugs come out at night and munch away, and then hide during the day.

If you find any, crush their little brains out! Yucky, but if you don't kill them, they WILL be back!

Slugs often leave a slime trail, which often dries and can be seen during the day as reflective trails on the leaf. A sure sign of their activity.

If indeed it is slugs, you will need to find a way to keep them out.
Having plants in pots with the water tray with water will help, so long as there isn't a "dry path" to the pots from a leaf or the pots touching the sides, etc.