What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Homebrewing!

For those of you that may be interested, one of my other hobbies is homebrewing. I'm still relatively new to it but last week I decided to embark on a pretty cool adventure... making Chicha de Jora! So the other night I stumbled upon the Chicha episode of Brewmasters via Netflix and seeing that 3-5 day turnaround time I just had to make it! So I did some research around the interwebs and developed my own recipe. I just really didn't want to take the time to germinate corn or to chew 8 lbs of corn so I decided to try something a little different. So here is the recipe I developed including a picture of the finished product which turned out more like a really heavy soda than beer due to my mistakes.
Traditionally, Chicha is strained using a straw basket filled with hay. I couldn't find any hay so I used dried long fibered sphagnum instead...

What follows is the recipe I attempted:

2.5 cups Dried Long Fibered Sphagnum- boiled for 10 minutes (in place of hay/straw)
8 lbs dried, flaked yellow maize≈5 gallons when saturated
2.5 gallons of water
1 oz Amylase enzyme
1 package of “sugar cane swizzle sticks (4oz)”, crushed
1/4oz cloves, divided into two equal portions
1oz cinnamon sticks
11.5oz fresh spearmint, crushed (typical size for fresh packaged spearmint at a grocery store)
1 cup fresh dill, crushed
1 package American Ale strain yeast
1 package Bavarian Wheat strain yeast

•Crush your sugar cane with a hammer
•Crush your spearmint, dill, and cloves with a mortar and pestle
•Sterilize your brew pot, lid, fermentation bucket, lid, airlock, thermometer, specific gravity measurer
•Fill brew pot with 2.5 gallons of water and add your corn
•Bring to 155F