What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

help

• Thread starter Brails
  • Start date
  • Tags
    fly
I just got my fly trap and i am wondering if i am caring for it

1st off i live in a desert
I have it in a 10 gallon fish tank for them
The Humidy is around 70
The temprature is about 80
I shine light on it 14 hours a day

I think you feed them once a month?

Do you keep the water trays filled up all the way all the time or do you let it dry out for a while before you fill them up again?

anything will help thx

Hi, I'm not an expert or anything but the care tips on this site say to put the pot into an inch to an inch and of half of water at all times. They also say humidity isn't too big of a thing (around 40-60) but they love light. I feed mine whenever a fly happens to be around and bugging me. I'm going to try ants for my vft and my sundew next. I've heard they like those. I live in Colorado the plains and I just mist them a couple times a day. Have fun.

Light is good but if you are in a desert make sure it's not too much light.The trays should be filled ALL the time and feeding them once a month is fine keeping in mind that they don't need to be fed at all to survive and that feeding it more than 3 times a month is probably over feeding it. Good luck!
biggrin.gif
biggrin.gif
biggrin.gif

- Brett

Hey all

With watering your plant, ALWAYS keep the tray full of distilled, rain or reverse osmosis water.  NEVER give it tap, drinking, bottled or mineral water.

Brasils,