What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

TheFury

Oh, the humanity!!
Hey folks,

This is my first attempt at growing orchids. Well, if you must know, it's actually my second - my first attempt happened at college and came to a sudden halt when I thought it would be a great idea to mix up a strong batch of Miracle Gro and flood the pot with it.

But I digress. I got this orchid in the fall as a pair of tiny plants with no flowers in the same pot for $6. Well, it still hasn't flowered, one of the two plants has died, it hasn't grown at all, and now the leaves are wrinkly! D'oh!

5606417616_341a799df1_b.jpg

As for conditions: it's in my grow rack at the moment, hoping to coax it into recovery. But it usually stays near a south-facing window where it gets an hour or so of direct sun a day. I try my best to keep it shaded from the sun by putting an african violet plant I have between it and the window on the same shelf. Ambient humidity in the room is generally in the 50s. The media is mostly what it came with - seems to be a mix of charcoal, bark, and lava rocks. When I repotted it, I used LFS - by now it's all kinda mixed together.

I read online that wrinkly leaves can either be a sign of too little or too much water. The media always stays slightly damp, so I figured it was too much. I read that I needed to examine the roots - so that's what I did!

A vast majority of the roots were brown and crispy, so I removed them. There were only two roots that were plump and greenish-white. So I removed the dead mass and potted the plant back up.