What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hello! Total newbie from NE Texas with a terrarium

And I'm not *entirely* sure what I'm doing, but I'm trying! I wanted plants in my room at work, but it has no windows. I ultimately decided on a terrarium with artificial lighting, and carnivorous plants because they always seemed really awesome.

10 gallon terrarium with some sort of tropical nepenthes. I wanna put a few sundews in here later on as well.
rfJWaVA.jpg

Close up. No traps, but I'm really hoping they grow.
dxe0FuK.jpg

It is in a mix of peat and sphagnum with a bit of perlite mixed in for good measure. The bottom inch and a half or so is coarse sand. I have distilled water, but want to find a way to tap into our building's RO system and use that. I have heard that even with this pure water, dissolved solids will still eventually accumulate and become an issue. (Is this true?) So, I figured I would make room for a small PVC pipe going to the bottom of the tank that I could siphon water out of every now and then to get the solids outta the tank.

I'm a bit concerned about the lighting. It's fairly close, about 10" to the substrate, but I don't know if it'll be bright enough. It's a 2 lamp T5HO fixture from Aquaticlife. This is the manual, which includes spectral output graphs. http://aquaticlife.lifetimeproducts.netdna-cdn.com/sites/default/files/specsheets/420014.pdf

So... That's what I got I reckon. There's always more to learn. I'm glad to be here, and if anybody has any suggestions for improving this little terrarium of mine, I'm all ears.