What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Heli and ceph.

hello tf.
i got some money for my birthday and i went on a little CP shopping spree. I bought a bunch of stuff, including a ceph and a heliampora minor. im new to these two and im looking for some advice.

i plan on growing them in a terrarium.
my terrarium has a constant 85% humidity and is 70 degrees during the day and it goes down to 62 degrees at night. i have two floroucents on the tank currently. a 15ww t8 5500k and then a 40ww t8 6500k. i have my lights running for 16hours a day.

im wondering what soil media really works with these two.?
ive read a few different things and some use open tray with just a little water, so does that work?
and any other tips.

At the moment, I use cypress bark mulch and live LFS for helis and I use cypress bark mulch, peat, perlite, and quartz sand for cephs. There are many different potting mixes that people use that would also work.

I have used the tray method for both ( pots sitting a little bit of water), but I would not recommend it for others as there is a risk of root rot.

My general watering tips would be to water helis often and let cephs dry a little bit before watering again. In addition to reading the advice from others growers, I research how the plants grow in nature and try to duplicate the growing conditions the best I can.

I use 100% live LFS for helis, and 1:1 peat and perlite for cephs.

invest in some fans to help circulate the air. cephs HATE stagnant warm air.

Just to share the info, I also use a cypress bark mulch mix with live sphag on top, then for Ceph's its just a peat and silica sand mix.

good luck