What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Greetings...

I don't know how many of you remember me, i left the forums about a year ago, but I am thinking about putting my old terrerium to use by making an aquarium. I have very little knowledge about this, but it seemed like an interesting idea. I basically need to know where to begin. My tank is a 20 gal long, i dont have a suitable cover or light for it. I wanted to know other things such as maintenence (how often and for how long), costs, and also, i am interested in what other things can be kept in it besides fish (i.e. crustateans, mollusks etc. im not sure about this for fresh water).
And thats the other thing, fresh water and salt. What type of fish can each support?

Anyways, its good to be back. Thanks in advance...
Later

Well, I'll give you a link to start with. I've found this place to be quite useful, lots of knowledgeable fish keepers.

Age of Aquariums Message Board

For a reply on this site. One word, research! I'd reccomend starting with FW, as saltwater can be more taxing, especially when you are still trying to figure out how the equipment ticks. In that case, you surely do not need any more distractions such as fish that require special food etc. Choose your fish carefully, after researching thoroughly. Also buy oen of the "Aquarium Atlas" type books to ID all the things that you may find at the petstore.