What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Darlingtonia wilting

Today I noticed that my Darlingtonia appears to be wilting. The mature pitchers as well as the developing ones appear to be drying up. The plant looked fine just a few days ago. It has been overcast the last few days and it rained a few days ago, so I haven't watered the plant in a few days. Even so, with the rain, the soil has been wetter than it normally is and temperatures have been cool too. The rain knocked over the main pitcher, which is why it is bent, but that doesn't appear to be why the plant wilted. The Drosera venusta in the same pot seem fine. I have never used pesticides or fertilizer before so I am at a loss as to what the cause could be. The small offshoot at the bottom of the second picture looks fine. The growing medium is peat, perlite, and orchid bark.

Here are pictures of the plant:

DSC_0617.jpg

DSC_0618.jpg

It does appear that your plant is slightly wilted. If the soil is very moist and your plant still wilts, then you likely have a root disease. Water it and then carefully watch it during the hottest parts of the next few days. If the wilting continues, quarantine the plant and its soil from all your other plants.

The cat is already out of the bag on this over at another forum. It appears that at least in one instance, root rot of Darlingtonia was traced to specific watermold pathogens. This is only the first step at understanding the diseases of plants from Sarraceniaceae. I received an analysis about some crown-rotted Sarracenia in which the same pathogen was found. It will be interesting to see what other analyses discover about plants that died of rot.