What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Container gardening

hey all
smile.gif

plotting out my summer plant plans again (this is what a winter in western NY will do to you), and i'm going to *try* for a larger-scale container garden again this year. of course... i'm still a broke student... so it'll be a CHEAP container garden, and i'm working on ways to go about that.

the main thing i was curious about was the soil mix. obviously, cheaper is better for me, and i found out that i can get free leaf compost from the town where i live. would it be possible to use a mix of this compost and a little vermiculite or perlite and still grow decent plants, or am I asking for trouble with that? i'm figuring that the *FREE* compost will offset the cost of the additives. or should i invest in a commercial potting soil, but less of it, and throw in some compost and vermiculite? what do people here use?

the plants i want to grow are mainly herbs and vegetables... rosemary, sage, thyme, carrots (i found an adorable dwarf variety), peas, tomatoes, some African daisies and probably a few other showy annuals. i had great luck with the daisies last year so i'm more than willing to try those again!

thanks!

Well, since I'm short on time (it's about dinner!) I can write this at least: get your containers on the cheap!! If you're not already using lefovers from last year, or if you need more, you can go to many different places to get FREE standard size pots.