What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

I apologize in advance if I posted this in the wrong sub-forum.

I've mainly drosera, a few byblis and a few pinguiculas. I might be adding nepenthes, flytrap and sarracenia into my collection soon.

I've always wanted to get artifical lightings because it's always so cloudy here. Went onto many sites and found a few offer. I'm still a student so I can't afford those grand setups.

First offer was T5 HO 2 feet 24W (saw wrongly earlier on) x 2 tubes.
Second was T5 HO 2 feet 24W x 4 tubes.

The second one cost 20 USD more. Both are 6500k I think, the light seems white to me.

I intend to get a 2 feet fish tank from my friend and put my plants in it. I just want them to color up nice. For example, filiformis 'Florida red' turning crimson red, etc.

Will 2 tubes accommodate that or do I have to get 4 tubes? Is the 4 tubes set-up even enough for carnivorous plants?

Thanks.

Last edited:
Bumps... Anyone?

Lumens produced for one tube of 24W T5 HO = around 1920 lm
Two tubes = 3840lm (i typed wrongly :x) .

Bright enough to bring the red pigment out of plants like sarracenia??

Last edited:
For sarracenia, I would recommend sunlight. t5s just dont cut it

Hi, T5 2ft 18W is not enough for Sarracenia. That's because the brightest part is the middle of the tube and 2ft is very short. You can at most place just one plant under that region.

I use two tubes of T5 3ft high output at 39W each...not enough for tall growing Sarracenia and barely ok for compact ones.

Your 2nd choice of 4 tubes of 24W may stand a chance with lower growing species but that means your growing area would be hot unless your place is naturally cool/cold.

Cheers!!!