What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

A fly trap terrarium.

Hello, Ive been doing a lot of reading on the forum here and figured I better ask for advice if I plan on having any type of luck with a project like this.

I've noticed that you guys really frown on growing fly traps in any kind of terrarium, but I'm a poor college student who is stuck in a dorm that only gets 3 hours of sunlight max. I don't have the option of planting outside either. Sadly, Im really only interested in fly traps, so I wouldn't really have the motivation to put any other species in there. If you guys think this would be a viable project, then I wouldn't mind putting a lot of time into in order to make it just right.

Most of the terrariums I've seen on here keep the plants potted. I suppose this is just to keep soil mixtures/water levels separate for the different plants?

I have a 5.5 gallon fish tank (rectangular/long) that I plan on using. I've read that fly traps like occasional rain, but not very much humidity. So what if I used this for a bottom substrate,
http://www.herpsupplies.com/product.cfm?groupid=13390&id=HYD310
and then put the recommended potting mixture above that, with a screen divider. Then I would run a pump in the corner to run bottom water up to the top of the tank and into some kind of drip style tubing. This would be set on a timer to go off a few times per day.

I might be able to rig up some kind of float/valve system inside the tank so that it would hold a steady water level, but that would be an extra credit project ???